Upgrade of MioMap Menu to Ver 3.6 – Deleting individual entries from Location History & Dominique’s Skin Trick

[This is not a full version release, but rather an upgrade of the MioMap menu only] 

[Updated 3/4/2008.   My intent was not to force the user to use a SD card, but to help the user by setting up the file structure if it was installed.   Please download again if you were getting an error message complaining about no Storage Card – I’ve updated the routes.mscr file.  Thank you bulldog for bringing this to my attention!]

menu36a.jpg

The primary improvement that this upgrade allows is the ability to be able to delete individual Location History items from your iGo.db file vs. your only option currently to CLEAR ALL.    I wish to thank WildBill very much for seeing this project through to fruition.   It serves it’s mission quite nicely considering that it isn’t a dedicated program like POI Explorer.   He has come through with a SQL script that does the actual repairs to a temporary working copy of iGo.db and “vacuums” it when it is completed.   You do not have to know SQL to take advantage of this program  🙂

Secondly, this will upgrade the MioMap Menu (ROUTES.MSCR) to revision level 3.6 if you are using my version 3.3, version 3.3 LITE, version 3.4, or version 3.5, so that you will have all of the latest menu options including the two that aid in editing your Location History entries, Skins Management, Screens Management, and Settings (SYS.TXT) Management.   For instructions on using all of the menu options other than the two newest covered in this blog, refer to the Version 3.5 Blog.

The file includes Version 3.6 of Routes.mscr and the SQL file that WildBill wrote.  The menu has been rewritten to coincide with the LITE Unlock as well, and will serve as my upgrade for that version without the need for a seperate version.

Simply download the  upgrade  and extract all of the files into the Script folder.

Routes.mscr will create a working folder on your SD card for the temp file and will copy the SQL script there as well, so that if you use a SD card reader, you will not have to link up your Mio to your PC to perform this editing.   This also allows you to revert back to the original iGo.db file if you decide you are unhappy with the results of your editing.

NOTES:

  1. For those not using a Mio C230 or not using my Unlock packages, or not wishing to take advantage of the Menu to prep the working file, I’ve explained exactly what steps 1 and 9 do, so that you can edit the file regardless, but you will need to create   \Storage Card\iGo_Work   folder, and copy   Reset_History.sql   to that folder.   That is the only file you need to extract in this case.
  2. For those not using a SD card, I suggest either editing Routes.mscr by replacing  “\Storage Card\iGo_Work”  with   “\My Flash Disk\Script\iGo_Work”   (use the Find and Replace tool in your editor so as to catch all instances <without the quotes> in the file)   OR   simply alter the manual process instructions mentioned in Note 1.
  3. The SQL script only addresses HISTORY_V4 changes.   Do not manually delete entries in other tables like City History and expect the SQL script to patch-up the database for those changes.
  4. As we gain more confidence in this procedure, we may be able to skip the working file concept altogether, and edit the actual iGo.db, but it would involve linking your Mio to the PC each time which would in turn result in a soft or hard reset being required after unlinking.
  5. When you back up your Mio C230 (saves your POIs, favorites, Recent Cities and other History lists as well as your preferences within the various settings menus) within MioMap 3.3, it saves the data as iGo_backup.db in the root of your SD card so that you are able to restore your settings.   So if you don’t back-up your C230 after you’ve edited your Location History entries, they may reappear again should you ever use the Restore option.

You will need to download the free Personal version of SQLite Expert to your PC in order to be able to perform this editing.    Bill has asked that I convey heartfelt thanks to the author of SQLite Expert, Bogdan Ureche as well, since he makes this great tool available free of charge and helped in the development of the SQL script. 

Instructions

[BEFORE YOU FOLLOW THE PROCEDURES TO MODIFY YOUR MIO C230, KNOW THAT YOU MIGHT RENDER YOUR C230 UNUSABLE AND YOU MIGHT VOID YOUR WARRANTY. YOU DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK.]

  1. Choose the “Prep Location History file” option in the MioMap menu (which first backs up \My Flash Disk\MioMap\MioMap2\iGo.db    to    \My Flash Disk\MioMap\MioMap2\iGo_orig.db    and then copies  \My Flash Disk\MioMap\MioMap2\iGo.db    to     \Storage Card\iGo_Work\iGO_working.db3).     Then, either link up your Mio and your PC with the SD card inserted  OR  if you have a SD card reader attached to your PC, remove the SD card and insert it into your reader.

    menu36b.jpg
  2. Run SQLite Expert Personal and open the working file \Storage Card\iGo_Work\iGO_working.db3  which will show up in your PC as the drive letter assigned to your SD card  (ie.  g:\iGo_Work\iGO_working.db3 )

    step3.jpg
  3. The tables and views will be displayed in the left tree panel. Click on the HISTORY_V4 table to display it in the right panel.
  4. Click on the DATA tab to display the records in the table.
  5. To reveal the blob information stored the DATA field for a record, double click on the BLOB to open the hex editor.
    step5.jpg
  6. To delete a highlighted record, click on the delete record button ( – ).
  7. Repeat for any other entries you wish to delete from the HISTORY_V4 table. Then click on the SQL tab to open the upper SQL edit window.
  8. Select SQL >> Load the SQL Script (\Storage Card\iGo_Work\Reset_History.sql) >> Execute the SQL script (F5 or the folder with the lightning bolt icon).  The working file is now ready to replace your iGo.db file. 

    step8.jpg
  9. Power up your C230 and reinsert the SD card into it.    Choose the “Save edited Location History file” option in the MioMap menu (which copies \Storage Card\iGo_Work\iGO_working.db3    back to    \My Flash Disk\MioMap\MioMap2\iGo.db).   If you wish to revert back delete \My Flash Disk\MioMap\MioMap2\iGo.db and rename iGo_orig.db to iGo.db
anim_driving.gif
now, off to get a cup of coffee

Dominique’s  Skin Trick

See comment below regarding a trick that Dominique submitted on Amida’s blog that can come in very handy.  Now, if you make custom buttons and icons that you want to be used in all of your skins, whatever you add into  \My Flash Disk\MioMap\MioMap2\Skin\DATA.ZIP  will override the contents of your skin DATA.ZIP folder.   Also, if you upgrade a skin, you won’t have to reincorporate your customizations, if you’ve installed them into this folder.

What a great find!!!

NOTE:  Don’t put regular DATA.ZIP files in this folder, or you won’t be able to swap skins using my Skin Management Menu, since the entire skin would be negated by this file.

As an example, as of today, without changing any skins, my Favorite Locations buttons in the Route-To screens will always appear as shown below to reflect the changes I made, regardless of what skin I’m using.

buttons.jpg
21 Comments »

  1. […] 14, 2008 at 12:30 pm · Filed under mio c230 [UPGRADE released  2/9/2008 that allows you to do this […]

  2. CD said

    This does not work on my c230. For some reason, loading the routes.mscr and RESET_HISTORY.sql files causes my GPS to be ‘OFF’ when MioMap is started. It will then not turn on.

    To verify, I reformatted my internal flash disk. I then loaded my last, stable build. Everything is working fine. GPS is ‘ON’. Signal is good. I add the routes.mscr and RESET_HISTORY.sql files to the script folder. Reboot. At the main page, I have a yellow exclamation point on the GPS indicator. (Waiting yields nothing) I open the GPS page. The GPS is OFF. I click ‘GPS On’. The unit sits there and does not continue. Waited 15 minutes…. nothing.

    I then did the same process a second time. Same results.

    However, without the routes.mscr and RESET_HISTORY.sql files in the script folder, no problems.

  3. c230 said

    CD,

    Click on the Detect button on your GPS Data screen. I had added code to Routes.mscr in an attempt to fix this, but anyways you should be fine after the chip is detected and you shouldn’t experience this again after the chip is detected.

    This does not happen with the Ameridan skin, but it happened to me with the Quicksilver 66 skin. You really didn’t need to rebuild. I notice in iLoveMyMio forum that it is suggested that each time you change skins you are advised to erase iGo.db, but I haven’t found that to be necessary.

    One thing I found very interesting – The GPS port is supposed to be set at com port 2 @ 4800 baud, but Quicksilver will not start with that setting (regardless of whether you’ve installed the Menu 3.6 or not), as you’ll see when you hit the detect button. It wants the baud to be set at 38,400.

  4. CD said

    That worked. But I have to do that every time I leave MioMap and return.

  5. c230 said

    CD,

    Out of curiosity, look thru your SYS.TXT and look thru the GPS section and let me know what you find. The factory skin seems to use predefined GPS settings, unlike Quicksilver 66. I am not experiencing this issue which I hope isn’t common to this upgrade, but I want to work with you to resolve.

    I emailed you an alternate Routes.mscr file to try and I notice that Amida published a SYS.TXT blog yesterday. Did you manually add any [GPS] settings?

  6. CD said

    I made no changes to anything. Just dragged those files into the Script folder.

  7. c230 said

    I meant in SYS.TXT which isn’t part of the upgrade. What is in the [GPS] section?

  8. CD said

    That routes.mscr you sent me did the trick! I’m cooking with heat now!!!!

    I have a theory…. everyone chime in with your thoughts…

    I think it is generally believed that adding custom POIs drags the performance of the Mio c230 down. I have noticed SIGNIFICANT reduction in speed when I have my owm POIs added. Do we all agree?

    I thought that I could do this: I will add a bunch of custom POIs. I will them create a “Route To” using each of them. This will, essentially, put each POI in my History file. I can then delete all of my Custom POIs. This would allow me to have the speed associated with having no custom POIs, but, in reality, I would have them all saved as history files and be able to go to any of them at will. And, now that this feature has been added, I can delete any History items I do not wish to keep.

    Does this idea have merit? Or will having the slew of History items in the iGO.db cause the same slowdown as having Custom POIs?

    Thoughts?

  9. CD said

    I noticed another oddity. Until now, whenever I did a hard reset, the date on the clock always read 5/27/2005 and the time was 12:00. If I went to the Miomap software, got a signal and then exited back to the clock page, the clock and date would be correct.

    Now, when I do the same thing, the clock is corrected, but the date still reads 5/27/2005.

    Ideas?

  10. CD said

    Nevermind… a quick switch to the desktop and back corrected the situation.

  11. c230 said

    Actually your idea makes sense. My theory is that POIs that have been manually added will always be dragging down your navigation performance because the entire database has to be processed as your map position changes, vs. only the POIs that are in within a specified distance of your current coordinates need to be processed when they are built into the map file.

    Location History is simply data that is available for easy re-input in setting up a Route destination point, and has absolutely nothing to do with navigation, hence it should not have any affect on performance. I’m not sure if there is a limit on the amount of locations that can be historically saved or not.

    I’ve tweaked the Routes.mscr file and uploaded the folder at 9:00 pm tonight (2/9/2008) for those that have downloaded this upgrade earlier today and are experiencing the issue that CD described.

    Regarding the desktop issue, the default refresh rate is on the order of a few minutes to consume less processing power, so things like date changes, battery status, icon changes, etc. aren’t always reflected right away, but by changing to another screen and back again, all will have been refreshed.

  12. c230 said

    I’d like to throw another concept out there for some feedback…

    Does anyone actually make use of the 2nd favorite which by default is Work?

    Being semi-retired myself, that is a wasted resource, which leads me to an idea for one of the new skins….

    Making the 2nd Favorite “Car” (rather than Work) along with a corresponding icon of a car.

    Now whenever you park your car: click on General Settings / Set Favorite Destination / Change Address of Parked Car / Coordinates / Done

    Or better yet… the ultimate would be an icon on the cockpit screen that would do all of that for you by just clicking on it.

    Now you’ll always be able to find your vehicle if you’ve got your Mio with you.

    To me, this makes more sense than using POI for this function, since your car can only be in one spot at any given time, and you wouldn’t be accumulating POIs that are worthless after you’ve found your car and driven off.

    Ideas / Comments?

    By the way, don’t forget about using Pedestrian mode for instances like this where you are locating your vehicle in large mall lots, etc.

    Pedestrian mode routes using streets (excluding freeways, etc.) without regard to traffic direction or turn restrictions and once it gets as close as possible to the car using streets, it will make a beeline to the car across the empty, streetless area which is presumably the parking lot.

  13. c230 said

    Dominique added this comment to Amida’s blog recently. Knowing this a month or two ago sure would have made the DATA.ZIP file changes alot easier! We could have just added the one file with the Exit Door change and no one would have had to go through the ZIP exercises.

    Hi all,
    Has anyone tried to use the SKIN folder trick ?
    Just create a folder /miomap/miomap2/SKIN and put the data.zip (do not unzip it) in that directory …
    And here it is! It seems that this trick make works more skins and you don’t have to worry with the config folder.
    One more things : you can put in that folder the complete data.zip but you can also put a data.zip that contains only the files changed for the skin !!!
    Let’s imagine a simple data.zip with only the files changed for the “exit door buton” , tracks , “gps off” buton.
    Reverting to standard skin is easy as rename the SKIN folder…

    So now, if you make custom buttons and icons that you want to be used in all of your skins, whatever you add into \My Flash Disk\MioMap\MioMap2\Skin\DATA.ZIP will override the contents of your skin DATA.ZIP folder. What a great find!!! Thank you Dominique 🙂

    As an example, my favorites buttons in the Route To screen will always reflect the changes I spoke of in the last comment, regardless of what skin I’m using. See the illustration above (at the bottom of the blog)

    [This may well be the best way to take care of the Exit Door change for EU users, since they can’t replace their entire DATA.ZIP file with a US compatible file.]

  14. bulldog485 said

    Dan,

    IR to the “Car Finder” function you spoke of, it looks like Mio did this with their Mio 268+ / 269+ models. On the GPS coordinates screen, they have a button that can “save current position” so one can use it to get back to a parked car.

    Maybe something like this can be incorporated so we maybe have 4 favorites buttons like the “higher” Mio units do.

    A thought…

    Bulldog485…

  15. bulldog485 said

    Here is a link to what they have on their corporate site. Sorry i forgot it above…

    http://www.mio-tech.be/en/mio-club/how-to-find-your-car-268-269-plus.php

  16. c230 said

    Thanks bulldog,

    I think I’ve got it figured out. Just have to find a good spot for the button now.

  17. Andrew said

    (Sorry for the repost, but I wanted this question to get more exposure because maybe other people might also echo my sentiments.)

    I am wondering if there is a simple operation to REDUCE the number of times Samantha or whoever reminds you that a turn/maneuver is forthcoming. Basically I’d rather not be reminded that I need to turn onto X Street when there are 800 yards left, 500 yards left, 300 yards left, etc – but instead be able to adjust the number of reminders. It’s not the end of the world if one can’t change this, but it seems like a good idea if one can manipulate these settings. Thanks!

  18. opop said

    Ameridan

    I think its time for your own forum. I like wordpress, but , it’s hard to find the what everyone is working on.

    http://www.freeforums.org/ …. its free. And its phpBB ..a easy setup.

    You don’t new a lot of groups . Just You know something for Developers. 😉 .

  19. c230 said

    [Updated MioMap Menu 3.6 on 3/4/2008. My intent was not to force the user to use a SD card, but to help the user by setting up the file structure if it was installed. Please download again if you were getting an error message complaining about no Storage Card – I’ve updated the routes.mscr file. Thank you bulldog for bringing this to my attention!]

    NOTE:

    MioMap will always soft-reset if a SD card is inserted while it is running (any skin, even the factory skin) so if you experience MioMap resetting itself while driving, as bulldog has experienced, I strongly feel that the cause is poor contact with one of the gold traces on the SD card, either because they are substandard (cheap or undersized card), they have a slight film on them, or the contacts in the Mio unit have become out-of-spec due to the card being inserted at an awkward angle. My suggestion would be to lightly rub the contact traces on the SD card with a clean dry cloth, akin to an eyeglasses cleaning cloth. I’ve had to do this when my card reader was not reliably detecting my SD card as well. Hopefully this tip resolves the issue for you too!

  20. Rich F said

    Why does the upgrade package have a 471kb file “nav.ico”?

  21. c230 said

    That was a bonus item since my original icon was actually a TomTom.

    I guess I should remove it for future versions so as to not replace an icon you may like better – is that the implied suggestion? 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

